International Neuropsychological Society Membership Business Meeting Toronto, Ontario, Canada February 16, 2002

1. Introduction

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 pm by President Alexandre Castro-Caldas.

2. Treasurer's Report

Robert Heaton reported that INS brought forward a balance of \$1,087,60670 into the 2002 year. Collected revenues for 2001 totaled \$738,107.30, with expenses totaling \$665,597.13, yielding a net income for 2001 of \$72,510.17. A financial audit will be conducted for fiscal years 2000 and 2001 in the upcoming months.

3. Executive Secretary's Report

Robert Bornstein reported that as of December 31, 2001, the Society had 3,856 active members, with 2,935 from the United States, 279 from Canada and 642 members from outside of North America. As of December 31, 2001, 59% of members had paid their 2002 dues, compared to 66% at comparable times in 2000 and 2001.

Bornstein reported that the Board of Governors (BOG) approved a change in the publication schedule of the Society's membership directory. Future INS membership directories will be published in July rather than January. The next edition will be published in paper version. The BOG charged Bornstein to move forward to develop a website with directory access to be implemented by July 2002.

4. Committee Reports

A. Program Committee - Toronto

Andrew Kertesz, Program Committee Chair, reported that there were 1533 registrants for the meeting. A total of 763 submissions from 19 countries were received for the Toronto meeting. Kertesz thanked the members of the Program Committee, his personal assistant, and the INS central office staff for their help. Kertesz recognized the recipients of awards who were introduced to the membership. The Philip Rennick Award was received by N. Chaytor and Michael Santa Maria was the recipient of the Butters Awards. The Cermak Award was awarded to Leslie Baxter.

B. Program Committee - Stockholm, Sweden

Hallgrim Klove provided the membership with an overview of the program developed for the

mid-year meeting being held in Stockholm, Sweden from July 24-27, 2002. The program will included 5 symposium as well as 5 lectures from international experts. A number of social events have also been planned.

C. Site Selection

Robert Bornstein reported that the following sites have been selected for future meetings: Honolulu, Hawaii, at the Sheraton, February 5-8, 2003; Berlin, Germany, July/August 2003 at the Hotel Intercontinental; Baltimore, Maryland February 4-7, 2004 at the Marriott Waterfront; and, Brisbane, Australia in the summer of 2004, site and dates TBA. Bornstein introduced the Program Chair for Berlin, Seigfried Gaugel, and the Organizing Committee Chair for Berlin, Hendrik Niemann, to the membership. The Berlin mid-year meeting will be jointly held with the German Neuropsychological Society.

D. Continuing Education

Neil Pliskin, Director of CE, reported that 27 CE courses were offered at this meeting. Preliminary feedback from attendees of this year's CE course offerings in the special theme topic of Behavioral Genetics has been very favorable. INS continues to be accredited to offer CE credit through the American Psychological Association and the American Speech and Language-Hearing Association. Pliskin reported that 5 CE courses will be offered at the Stockholm mid-year meeting. The Special Topics Seminars in Honolulu will be Diversity in Neuropsychology. Pliskin discussed future plans to reduce fees to attend CE offerings for student members.

E. International Liaison Committee (ILC)

Bernice Marcopulos updated the membership on recent activities of the ILC. She announced that Nancy Pachena has been appointed Editor of the ILC Net Newsletter, and that the Winter 2001 edition was recently mailed to all members. The ILC website is also operational (http://www.ilc-ins.org). The ILC Book Depository program is undergoing changes. In the future, a smaller number of more current books and journals will be sent to recipients on behalf of the Society. Current Depository stock will be distributed. The ILC also is continuing to provide the Support Consultation Program led by Debora Scheffel.

F. Publications

Castro-Caldas reported for the Publication Committee, and noted that all is going well.

G. Elections

President Castro-Caldas reported the following results from the recent INS elections. Elizabeth Warrington has been elected President-Elect, and Erin Bigler has been elected to serve as the Society's Treasurer. Newly elected Board members are: Gordon Chelune, Bruce Crosson and Ritva Laaksonsen. President Castro-Caldas thanked outgoing Board members, Wilfred van Gorp, Michael Koppelman and Bjorn Ellersten. He also thanked Martha Denckla who is concluding her term as Past-President. Special thanks were conveyed to Robert Heaton for his

18 years of service to the Society as Treasurer. Castro-Caldas presented Heaton with a plaque recognizing his valuable contributions to the Society.

5. New Business

No new business items were presented by the membership.

6. Recognition of New President

Castro-Caldas introduced Leslie Gonzalez-Rothi to the membership as the new President of the Society. President Gonzalez-Rothi thanked Past-President Castro-Caldas for his work on behalf of the Society as President, and presented him with a plaque of recognition. Gonzalez-Rothi briefly addressed the membership. She noted three significant tasks will be undertaken during her term as President of the Society: 1) a financial audit of the Society as well as proposals on how Society funds should be utilized by the Resources Committee to be chaired by Robert Heaton; 2) the review of the Society's Executive Secretary; and, 3) the search for a new Editor for *JINS* will begin. She encouraged members who may be interested in serving as editor to come forward and to discuss their interest with Jack Fletcher, Chair of the Publications Committee. Finally, Gonzalez-Rothi led a moment of silence in memory of Freda Newcombe.

7. Meeting Adjournment

President Gonzalez-Rothi adjourned the meeting at 7:00 pm.

(Approved July 23, 2002)